Sri Lanka vs England 4th ODI: England triumph in rain-affected encounter to seal series

Eoin Morgan Joe Root 56-run partnership Sri Lanka England 4th ODI Pallekele cricket

Eoin Morgan (left) and Joe Root put together an unbeaten 56-run partnership as England secured a 3-0 series lead

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

England claimed an unassailable 3-0 series lead after they beat Sri Lanka by 18 runs via the Duckworth-Lewis-Stern method in the fourth ODI in Pallekele.

Choosing to bowl first, England got the early breakthrough they were looking for as Sri Lanka opener Sadeera Samarawickrama was caught behind off the bowling of Chris Woakes for one run.

Niroshan Dickwella and Sri Lanka captain Dinesh Chandimal made up for the loss of Samarawickrama by forging a 70-run partnership before Chandimal was clean bowled by Moeen Ali for 33.

Dickwella went on to score 52, which came off 70 balls and included five boundaries, before he was trapped lbw off the bowling of Moeen.

Kusal Mendis only scored five runs before he was given out lbw off the bowling of Adil Rashid.

Dhananjaya de Silva and Dasun Shanaka steadied things with a 52-run partnership before De Silva was caught behind off the bowling of Tom Curran for 17.

Shanaka and Thisara Perera kept the runs flowing with a 58-run stand before Shanaka was run out by England skipper Eoin Morgan for 66, which came off 66 balls and included four boundaries and five sixes.

Thisara and Akila Dananjaya added 56 runs to the score before Thisara was run out by Ben Stokes for 44.

With Dananjaya going on to score an unbeaten 32, Sri Lanka finished on 273/7 off their 50 overs.

Moeen was the pick o the bowlers with two wickets, while Woakes, Curran and Rashid chipped in with one wicket apiece.

Chasing 274 to win, England made a good start to their innings as Jason Roy and Alex Hales amassed a 52-run partnership before Hales was stumped by Dickwella off the bowling of Dananjaya for 12 runs.

Roy went on to make a 49-ball 45, which included five boundaries and a six, before he was trapped lbw off the bowling of Dananjaya.

Morgan and Joe Root stabilised the innings with an unbeaten 56-run stand before the rain came.

Since it refused to relent, England were declared the winners by 18 runs.

Dananjaya was the only bowler to take any wickets.

Morgan was named Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply