Lewis withdraws from limited overs series against India

Evin Lewis withdraws limited overs series India West Indies cricket

Evin Lewis has withdrawn from the limited overs series against India

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

West Indies opener Evin Lewis has pulled out of the upcoming limited overs series against India due to personal reasons.

Lewis, who declined a white-ball contract offered to him earlier this month, will be replaced by Kieran Powell for the five-match ODI series and Nicholas Pooran for the three-match Twenty20 series.

Powell has featured in 40 ODIs, the last of which was in July. As for Pooran, he has not played for the West Indies since September 2016.

Lewis is the third high-profile player to be ruled out of the ODI series against India as opening batsman Chris Gayle and all-rounder Andre Russell will also be absent.

Gayle made himself unavailable for selection for the limited overs series against India and the Bangladesh tour that follows since he is currently playing in the Afghanistan Premier League. He will feature in the T10 league after that.

In regards to Russell, he “has been ruled out of all 50-over cricket due to injury”, but is expected to be fit for the Twenty20 series against India.

Meanwhile, uncapped left-arm seamer Obed McCoy has been added to the ODI squad as cover for fellow pace bowler Alzarri Joseph, who “remains under observation for his return to full fitness”.

The ODI series between India and the West Indies begins on October 21 in Guwahati, while the Twenty20 series will get underway on November 4 in Kolkata.

West Indies’ ODI squad: Jason Holder (capt), Fabian Allen, Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Kieran Powell, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Oshane Thomas, Obed McCoy

West Indies’ T20 squad: Carlos Brathwaite (capt), Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran, Obed McCoy, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Oshane Thomas

Leave a Reply