Sri Lanka vs England 3rd ODI: Morgan stars as England go 2-0 up

Eoin Morgan 58 not out Sri Lanka England 3rd ODI Pallekele cricket

Eoin Morgan scored his 41st ODI fifty

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

England captain Eoin Morgan continued his excellent run of form as he struck an unbeaten 58 to lead his side to a seven-wicket win over Sri Lanka in a shortened match.

With the toss being delayed by more than five hours due to persistent rain, the third ODI between the two sides in Pallekele was cut down to a 21-over affair.

Being put in to bat first, Sri Lanka got off to a good start as openers Niroshan Dickwella and Sadeera Samarawickrama amassed a 57-run partnership before Dickwella was caught by Chris Woakes at mid-off off the bowling of Tom Curran for 36.

Kusal Mendis was clean bowled by Adil Rashid for a golden duck, while Samarawickrama was caught by Woakes at square leg off the bowling of Rashid for 35.

Rashid then removed Thisara Perera for a golden duck, while Dhananjaya de Silva was dismissed by Curran for three runs.

Sri Lanka continued to lose wickets at regular intervals after De Silva’s dismissal and eventually finished on 150/9.

Rashid was the pick of the bowlers with four wickets, while Curran chipped in with three.

Chasing 151 to win, England lost Jonny Bairstow early on as he was sent packing by Amila Aponso for four runs.

Aponso struck again in his next over as he clean bowled Joe Root for eight.

Jason Roy and Morgan steadied thing with a 46-run partnership before Roy was trapped lbw off the bowling of Akila Dananjaya for a 26-ball 41, which included three boundaries and two sixes.

Roy opted to review the decision, but replays showed the ball was pitching in line and going on to hit leg stump.

However, that was to be Sri Lanka’s last taste of success as Morgan and Ben Stokes finished things off with an unbeaten 73-run partnership, during which Morgan brought up his fifty.

Morgan ended up making 58 off 49 balls, which included seven boundaries, while Stokes remained undefeated on a 24-ball 35, which included a boundary and two sixes.

Aponso was the most successful bowler with two wickets, while Dananjaya claimed one.

Rashid was named Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply