Gayle opts out, but Bravo and Pollard return for India series

Chris Gayle makes himself unavailable for ODI series against India West Indies cricket

Chris Gayle declined to be selected for the ODI series against India

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

West Indies opener Chris Gayle made himself unavailable for selection for the upcoming ODI series against India, but batsman Darren Bravo and all-rounder Kieron Pollard are back in the squad for the Twenty20 series.

Gayle opted out of the ODI series since he is participating in the Afghanistan Premier League and will feature in the T10 league after that.

However, he has made himself available for the West Indies’ home series against England next year and the 2019 World Cup in June.

With Gayle missing from the team, the West Indies have called up the uncapped trio of Chandrapaul Hemraj, Fabian Allen and Oshane Thomas.

Even though Gayle’s absence will be a big loss, the West Indies will welcome back Bravo and Pollard to their Twenty20 squad.

Bravo has not represented the West Indies in nearly two years, while his last Twenty20 International came all the way back in July 2014.

As for Pollard, his last Twenty20 International came in September 2017. It was also the last time he had played for the West Indies.

Bravo and Pollard’s inclusion in the Twenty20 squad comes after talks were held between Cricket West Indies and a number of players who had fallen out with the board.

Meanwhile, all-rounder Andre Russell will miss the ODI series due to an injury, but is set to recover in time for the three Twenty20 Internationals.

“With the 2020 ICC World T20 two years away and the limited amount of T20 Internationals within the next year, the panel believes at this juncture it is time to invest in the young players that have emerged over the last two years from Windies A and B teams, along with 2018 CPL,” West Indies chairman of selectors Courtney Browne was quoted as saying by ESPNcricinfo. “The panel believes that this new group of cricketers, in addition to their cricketing skills, will have the athleticism needed to improve our fielding, which will be vital to our success.

“The selection of a young group two years prior to the World T20 gives the coaching staff time to help them with their skills and for the team to develop into a cohesive and competitive unit.”

The five-match ODI series begins on October 21, while the Twenty20 series gets underway on November 4.

West Indies’ ODI squad: Jason Holder (c), Fabian Allen, Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Oshane Thomas

West Indies’ T20 squad: Carlos Brathwaite (c), Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Oshane Thomas

Leave a Reply