Steyn returns to South Africa’s ODI squad

Dale Steyn back in South Africa's ODI squad Zimbabwe series cricket

Dale Steyn has not played ODI cricket since October 2016

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

South Africa pace maestro Dale Steyn is set to feature in his first ODI in nearly two years after being included in the Proteas’ squad for the upcoming series against Zimbabwe.

Steyn has not featured in an ODI since October 2016, but has expressed his determination to represent his country at next year’s World Cup in England and Wales.

Spinner Imran Tahir also returned to the squad after being rested for the recent ODI series in Sri Lanka. Keshav Maharaj and Tabraiz Shamsi have been retained to bolster South Africa’s spin attack.

Middle-order batsmen Christiaan Jonker and Khaya Zondo, who recently captained South Africa A in a quadrangular series in India, have been drafted into the squad.

“The selection of Christiaan Jonker is part of the ongoing process of our Vision 2019. He had an outstanding debut in the T20 format against India, and we want to see whether he can convert that finishing form into the longer white-ball format as well,” Linda Zondi, South Africa’s convener of selectors, was quoted as saying by ESPNcricinfo. “We have also recalled Khaya Zondo to the ODI squad as another part of the pool-broadening process.

“He had an outstanding quadrangular series for South Africa A in India, against high quality opposition, scoring our only century and having a strike rate of 95.”

Interestingly, wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock and batsman David Miller were left out of the squad. It is understood that both of them have been rested.

Meanwhile, captain Faf du Plessis, who has been recovering from a shoulder injury, has been included in both the ODI and Twenty20 squads. But, his participation in the series against Zimbabwe will depend on the outcome of a fitness test.

Should he fail the fitness test, a replacement will be named and a stand-in captain will also be announced.

As for South Africa’s Twenty20 squad, openers Gihahn Cloete and Rassie van der Dussen could make their debuts, while Hashim Amla, Kagiso Rabada and Wiaan Mulder will be rested.

De Kock and Miller may not have been included in the ODI squad, but they are part of the Twenty20 side.

South Africa’s series against Zimbabwe consists of three ODIs and three Twenty20 Internationals. The ODIs will get underway on September 30 in Kimberley, while the Twenty20 series will begin on October 9 in East London.

South Africa’s ODI squad: Faf du Plessis, Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Christiaan Jonker, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi , Dale Steyn, Khaya Zondo

South Africa’s T20 squad: Faf du Plessis, Gihahn Cloete, Junior Dala, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Robbie Frylinck, Imran Tahir, Christiaan Jonker, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Dane Paterson, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen

Leave a Reply