CPL 2018 7th Match: Zampa, Phillips lead Tallawahs past Stars

Adam Zampa three wickets Jamaica Tallawahs St Lucia Stars Caribbean Premier League CPL cricket

Adam Zampa finished with figures of 3-27 off his four overs

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Adam Zampa took three wickets and Glenn Phillips smashed 58 to lead the Jamaica Tallawahs to a six-wicket win over the St Lucia Stars.

Electing to bat first, the Stars got off to a disappointing start as opener David Warner was clean bowled by Oshane Thomas for seven runs.

Andre Fletcher and Lendl Simmons made up for the loss of Warner with a 54-run partnership before Simmons was dismissed by Tallawahs captain Andre Russell for 22.

Fletcher went on to make 43 off 33 balls, which included five boundaries and two sixes, before he was caught by Russell at long-off off the bowling of Zampa.

Mark Chapman was clean bowled by Zampa for a golden duck two balls later, while Stars captain Kieron Pollard made a quickfire 26 before becoming Zampa’s third victim.

The Stars began to lose wickets in a hurry after Pollard’s dismissal, but Darren Sammy’s 24-ball 36 and Kavem Hodge’s eight-ball 21 got their side to 175 before they were bowled out.

Zampa and Thomas picked up three wickets apiece, while Russell snapped up two and Krishmar Santokie chipped in with one.

Chasing 176 to win, the Tallawahs made an excellent start to their innings as Phillips Johnson Charles put together an 81-run partnership before Charles was clean bowled by Hodge for 31.

Phillips proceeded to make 58 off 40 balls, which included two boundaries and six sixes, before he was removed by Obed McCoy.

Glenn Phillips 58 Jamaica Tallawahs St Lucia Stars Caribbean Premier League CPL cricket

Glenn Phillips struck two boundaries and six sixes during his knock of 58

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Andre McCarthy scored 20, while Russell mustered three runs before being dismissed, but Rovman Powell led the Tallawahs to victory as he hammered an unbeaten 43 off 23 balls, which included two boundaries and four sixes.

Hodge, McCoy, Pollard and Mitchell McClenaghan claimed one wicket each.

Zampa was named Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply