CPL 2018 3rd Match: Russell’s 121* and hat-trick helps Tallawahs ace record chase

Andre Russell hat-trick 121 not out Jamaica Tallawahs Trinbago Knight Riders Caribbean Premier League CPL 3rd Match cricket

Andre Russell claimed a hat-trick and scored an unbeaten 121 as the Jamaica Tallawahs completed the highest successful chase in CPL history

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Jamaica Tallawahs captain Andre Russell took a hat-trick and followed it up with a match-winning 121 not out as his side downed the Trinbago Knight Riders in a high-scoring affair.

Russell not only led the way as his side completed the highest successful chase in Caribbean Premier League (CPL) history, but he also scored the tournament’s fastest century.

In addition to this, Russell became only the second player after Joe Denly to take a hat-trick and score a ton in a Twenty20 fixture.

Being put in to bat first, the Knight Riders lost opener Sunil Narine early on as he was caught by Rovman Powell at long-on off the bowling of Imad Wasim for seven runs.

Chris Lynn and Colin Munro made up for the loss of Narine as they amassed a 98-run partnership before Lynn was brilliantly caught by Andre Russell off the bowling of Krishmar Santokie for a 27-ball 46, which included four boundaries and three sixes.

Munro went on to score 61 off 42 deliveries, which included five boundaries and three sixes, before he was caught by Ross Taylor at long-on off the bowling of Adam Zampa.

Brendon McCullum and Darren Bravo stabilised the innings with an 86-run partnership, during which McCullum surpassed his fifty, before he was dismissed by Russell for 56, which came off 27 balls and included five boundaries and four sixes.

Bravo was clean bowled by Russell the very next ball for a 16-ball 29.

Russell completed his hat-trick when Denesh Ramdin was caught by Andre McCarthy at deep midwicket for a golden duck.

With Russell’s hat-trick somewhat pulling things back for the Tallawahs, the Knight Riders finished on 223/6 off their 20 overs.

Russell was the pick of the bowlers with three wickets, while Zampa, Wasim and Santokie snapped up one wicket apiece.

Chasing 224 to win, the Tallawahs made an awful start to their innings as opener Glenn Phillips was caught by Fawad Ahmed at short third man off the bowling of Ali Khan for six runs.

McCarthy was on his way back to the pavilion two balls later as he was caught by Lynn at mid-on for a duck.

Ross Taylor became Ali’s third victim when he was trapped lbw for one run.

Powell also made one run before being clean bowled by Shannon Gabriel.

With Johnson Charles falling shortly after, the Tallawahs were struggling at 41/5.

However, Russell and Kennar Lewis came to the rescue as they forged a sensational 161-run partnership, which equalled the highest in CPL history and was the tournament’s highest sixth-wicket stand.

During their partnership, Russell, who was dropped on the first ball he faced, blitzed his way to a magnificent century, while Lewis brought up his fifty.

However, shortly after registering his half-century, Lewis was dismissed by Fawad Ahmed for 51, which came off 35 balls and included four boundaries and two sixes.

Russell, however, led the Tallawahs home with three balls to spare as he finished on 121 off 49 balls, which included six boundaries and 13 sixes.

Ali was the most successful bowler with three wickets, while Fawad took two and Gabriel claimed one.

Russell was named Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply