CPL 2018 1st Match: Munro’s blitz leaves St Lucia seeing stars

Colin Munro 68 Trinbago Knight Riders St Lucia Stars CPL 2018 1st Match cricket

Colin Munro smashed nine boundaries and a six during his knock of 68

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

The Trinbago Knight Riders got their Caribbean Premier League campaign off to a perfect start as batsman Colin Munro smashed a 48-ball 68 to help his side crush the St Lucia Stars by 100 runs.

Opting to bowl first, the Stars got an early breakthrough as Knight Riders opener Chris Lynn was dismissed by Mitchell McClenaghan for eight runs on the fifth ball of the match.

Sunil Narine and Munro made up for the loss of Lynn with a 40-run partnership before Narine was clean bowled by Kesrick Williams for 17.

Munro and former New Zealand captain Brendon McCcullum added another 40 runs to the score before McCullum was cleaned up by Stars captain Kieron Pollard for 13.

Darren Bravo fell shortly after, but Munro and wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin steadied things with a 51-run stand before Munro was clean bowled by Pollard for 68, which came off 48 balls and included nine boundaries and a six.

Knight Riders skipper Dwayne Bravo made a quickfire 17, while Ramdin ended up making an unbeaten 50, which came off 27 balls and included two boundaries and four sixes, to help his side finish on 195/6 off their 20 overs.

Pollard, McClenaghan and Williams picked up two wickets apiece.

Chasing 196 to win, the Stars got off to a flying start before Andre Fletcher was clean bowled by Ali Khan for 19.

Once Fletcher was dismissed, David Warner, Rahkeem Cornwall, Lendl Simmons, Mark Chapman and Darren Sammy were all removed in quick succession.

With the Stars reeling at 53/6, Pollard and Qais Ahmad managed to add 24 runs to the score before Qais was sent packing by Fawad Ahmed for 14.

Since Pollard went on to make 12 and McClenaghan and Mohammad Sami were both dismissed for six runs, the Stars ended up being skittled out for 95.

Bravo and Fawad took three wickets apiece, while Ali, Narine, Shannon Gabriel and Javon Scantlebury-Searles claimed one wicket each.

Munro was named Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply