Raza, Taylor among many high-profile players left out of Zimbabwe’s squad for T20 tri-series

Sikandar Raza Brendan Taylor left out Zimbabwe squad T20 tri-series Australia Pakistan cricket

Sikandar Raza was not included in Zimbabwe’s squad for the T20 tri-series against Australia and Pakistan

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Zimbabwe have omitted a number of senior players from their side for the upcoming T20 tri-series against Australia and Pakistan, including Sikandar Raza, Brendan Taylor, Sean Williams, Craig Ervine and Graeme Cremer, who was recently sacked as captain.

It is understood that the decision to leave Raza out of the squad stems from the fact that he will be representing the Montreal Tigers in the inaugural edition of the Global T20 Canada, which takes place between June 28 and July 15. The T20 tri-series will run from July 1 to 8.

However, while a plethora of key players failed to make the cut, all-rounder Elton Chigumbura and opening batsman Hamilton Masakadza found a place in the side.

“”The selectors picked the squad from the players who participated in the 20-over tournament involving two local sides, the Zimbabwe Select and Board XI, and Kenya,” a Zimbabwe Cricket release said as quoted by ESPNcricinfo. “Players involved in competitive cricket abroad who made themselves available for selection were also considered.”

There were doubts over whether the T20 tri-series would go ahead as the players were refusing to train due to their unpaid salaries.

The players are still owed wages from the last two months and from their tour of Sri Lanka last year.

Zimbabwe Cricket’s newly-appointed consultant Vince van der Bijl confirmed that the outstanding payments would be settled by July 25.

The release added that the squad for the series will be trimmed down to 15 players.

Zimbabwe squad: Cephas Zhuwao, Chamu Chibhabha, Hamilton Masakadza, Solomon Mire, Tarisai Musakanda, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Elton Chigumbura, Malcolm Waller, Brian Chari, Peter Moor, Donald Tiripano, Wellington Masakadza, Tendai Chisoro, Blessing Muzarabani, Ryan Murray, Kyle Jarvis, Chris Mpofu, Prince Masvaure, John Nyumbu, Ryan Burl, Brandon Mavuta, Rugare Magarira

Leave a Reply