Root plays down speculation of Australia ball tampering during Ashes

Joe Root unaware ball tampering Ashes Australia Steve Smith Cameron Bancroft sugar cricket

Joe Root: “I was not aware of any ball tampering”

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

England captain Joe Root has dismissed rumours that Australia may have tampered with the ball during the recent Ashes series.

England lost the series 4-0, but video footage has emerged of Australia opener Cameron Bancroft allegedly putting sugar in his pocket.

Bancroft and Australia captain Steve Smith recently admitted that they attempted to alter the condition of the ball on the third day of the third Test against South Africa in Cape Town.

Smith was subsequently banned for one Test and fined 100 percent of his match fee, while Bancroft was docked 75 percent of his match fee and handed three demerit points

Despite this, Root did not notice anything to make him suspicious of the fact that Australia had tampered with the ball during the Ashes.

“Not to my knowledge. I was not aware of any ball tampering,” Root was quoted as saying by Reuters. “I have enough to worry about… but it’s disappointing for Test cricket and cricket in general.”

Root added that while the captain is responsible for everything that occurs on the cricket field, he pointed out that players should be aware of the rules.

“As captain you’re responsible for how everyone else behaves,” he said. “I have to look after my own group and make sure I’m happy with how they conduct themselves.

“As an international player you should know the rules. I should not have to back that up. It’s as simple as that.”

Leave a Reply