Kohli, Rohit, Dhawan among five players to receive new A+ central contract

Virat Kohli A+ contract BCCI India cricket

Virat Kohli will earn INR 7 crores since he received an A+ contract

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

India captain Virat Kohli, openers Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan, and the pace duo of Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah are the five players who have been given the brand new A+ central contract for the 2017/18 season.

Under the A+ contract, the players will receive INR 7 crores (approximately USD 1 million).

There were also big increases in pay for the players in the lower contract categories as those who received A contracts will be paid INR 5 crores.

The players that made the cut for that category were Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Cheteshwar Pujara, MS Dhoni, Ajinkya Rahane, Murali Vijay and Wriddhiman Saha.

As for the B and C contracts, players will be paid INR 3 crores and INR 1 crore respectively.

Those who obtained the B contract included Lokesh Rahul, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Hardik Pandya, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma and Dinesh Karthik.

In regards to the C contract category, it comprised of Kedar Jadhav, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Axar Patel, Karun Nair, Parthiv Patel and Jayant Yadav.

The Supreme Court-appointed committee of administrators (CoA) has confirmed that even if the Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI) profits decrease, the retainers will be maintained.

“The CoA recognises that the actual income of the BCCI fluctuates on an annual basis depending on the number of home matches Team India (Senior Men) plays,” a BCCI release said. “Hence, to insulate the player compensation, the CoA has sanctioned the creation of a “Players Revenue / Compensation Equalization Fund” (PR/CEF) to which the BCCI will contribute approximately INR 125 Cr per annum from its surplus.”

The contracts will cover the period between October 1, 2017 and September 30, 2018.

Leave a Reply