Raina returns for T20 series against South Africa

Suresh Raina recalled India South Africa T20 series cricket

Suresh Raina has not played a Twenty20 International since February 2017

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

India have recalled batsman Suresh Raina for the upcoming three-match Twenty20 series against South Africa.

Raina has not represented India in a Twenty20 International since playing against England in February last year. He fell off the selectors’ radar after failing┬áthe Yo-Yo test, which is now a mandatory criteria players have to fulfill in order to be considered for selection.

However, given his form with Uttar Pradesh in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, where he was the sixth-highest scorer with 314 runs in nine matches at an average of 39.25, he has been granted another opportunity to revive his international career.

Meanwhile, uncapped seamer Shardul Thakur has been drafted into the side, but batsman Shreyas Iyer has been dropped for the series.

Opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan is also back in the side after being rested for India’s last Twenty20 assignment against Sri Lanka.

Virat Kohli, who was also rested against Sri Lanka, returns as captain.

The Twenty20 series between South Africa and India gets underway on February 18 in Johannesburg.

India’s T20 Squad:┬áVirat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Manish Pandey, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Jaydev Unadkat, Shardul Thakur.

Leave a Reply