Sri Lanka to host India, Bangladesh for T20 tri-series in March

Sri Lanka India Bangladesh T20 tri-series cricket

Sri Lanka will take on India and Bangladesh on home soil to mark 70 years of independence in March 2018

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

To celebrate their 70th year of independence, Sri Lanka will host India and Bangladesh for a Twenty20 International tri-series in March.

According to Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC), the Nidahas Trophy will see each team play each other twice before the final. The board also confirmed that all matches will be held at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

“Seventy years is a long journey, and one that needs to be commemorated and celebrated,” SLC president Thilanga Sumathipala said. “We are happy that our closest neighbours, who share more or less the same journey of independence are joining us in this celebration, which we believe will be a milestone and an augur of the great things to come in the annals of cricket.”

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) CEO Rahul Johri admitted that it was a privilege for India to be invited to play in the tournament.

“We are privileged to be a part of Sri Lanka’s 70th year celebrations, there is no closer friend to the BCCI than Sri Lanka [and Bangladesh] and when Mr. Sumathipala first floated this invitation, there was almost instant agreement that the Indian Team would participate for this reason,” he said.

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) president Nazmul Hassan said that “the support and contribution of Sri Lanka [and India] in Bangladesh’s cricketing journey could not be overemphasized, and that this invitation was a clear testament to what a good friend Sri Lanka has been to Bangladesh’s Cricket.”

He added: “This Tournament too, would no doubt continue to strengthen the bonds between the three nations.”

Leave a Reply