Chase dominates at West Indies awards ceremony

Chase won four awards in total

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

West Indies batsman Roston Chase stole the spotlight at the West Indies Players’ Association/Cricket West Indies’ annual awards ceremony in Jamaica on Friday.

Chase was named Cricketer of the Year, Test Cricketer of the Year, Emerging Cricketer of the Year and Regional Four-Day Cricketer of the Year.

The 25-year-old only made his Test debut last July, but he has already shown his class in the 10 Tests he has played to date as he has scored 728 runs, which includes three centuries and three fifties, at an average of 48.53.

Chase has also had an impact with the ball as he has taken 17 wickets in the longest format.

Meanwhile, Test and ODI captain Jason Holder received the ODI Cricketer of the Year award, while all-rounder Andre Russell, who is currently serving a one-year ban, took home the T20 International Cricketer of the Year prize.

Elsewhere, Stafanie Taylor won three prizes as the women’s captain was named Women’s Cricketer of the Year, Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year and Women’s T20 Cricketer of the Year.

List of award winners

♦ Men’s Cricketer of the Year: Roston Chase

♦ Women’s Cricketer: Stafanie Taylor

♦ Test Cricketer: Roston Chase

♦ ODI Cricketer: Jason Holder

♦ T20 International Cricketer: Andre Russell

♦ Women’s ODI Cricketer: Stafanie Taylor

♦ Women’s T20 International Cricketer: Stafanie Taylor

♦ First-Class Team: Guyana

♦ Regional Four-Day Cricketer: Roston Chase

♦ Regional Limited-Overs Cricketer: Ashley Nurse

♦ Regional T20 Cricketer: Dwayne Bravo

♦ Emerging Cricketer: Roston Chase

♦ U-19 Team of the Year: Guyana

♦ U-19 Cricketer: Joshua Bishop

♦ WIPA in the Community Award: Kameah Cooper

♦ Windies Foundation Award: The Chris Gayle Foundation

♦ CWI Lifetime Award: Walter Eden St John

♦ WIPA Lifetime Award: Cleveland Davidson

Leave a Reply