De Grandhomme, Raval and Broom included in New Zealand’s list of contracted players

“Colin made a breakthrough last summer and is rated well in all three formats”

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

All-rounder Colin de Grandhomme, opener Jeet Raval and batsman Neil Broom have all been included in New Zealand’s list of centrally contracted players for the 2017/18 season.

The trio were all rewarded with contracts following strong performances over a lengthy period of time.

“Colin made a breakthrough last summer and is rated well in all three formats; Jeet’s Test numbers speak for themselves, and Neil, as well as averaging 43 in ODI cricket (with a strike-rate of 90) since his recall, is also seen as viable cover for the Test team’s middle-order,” New Zealand selector Gavin Larsen said.

Meanwhile, pace bowler Doug Bracewell, spinner Mark Craig and wicketkeeper-batsman Luke Ronchi failed to make the cut.

Bracewell has struggled a knee injury and was recently sentenced to 100 hours of community service for a drink-driving offence, while Craig has only featured in one Test in the last 12 months.

As for Ronchi, he was removed from the list after announcing his retirement from international cricket.

“Doug is still viewed very positively by the selectors and has a big year in front of him in terms of bouncing back from his injury and proving his worth,” Larsen said. “It’s been a difficult time for him since the knee injury but we’re all hopeful he’ll make a full and sustainable recovery.”

Veteran off-spinner Jeetan Patel was also not included despite representing the Black Caps in five Tests and four ODIs over the last year.

“It was agreed the time was right for Jeetan to focus on Warwickshire, so as to allow plenty of opportunity for others to stake their claims ahead of the 2019 ICC World Cup,” Larsen said. “We enjoyed having Jeetan’s experience and skill over recent times but we’re into a new cycle now; it’s two years out from the ICC CWC, and we’re committed to bringing other players through.”

New Zealand’s contracted players for 2017/18: Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Neil Broom, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Henry Nicholls, James Neesham, Jeet Raval, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson, George Worker

Leave a Reply