Riaz ruled out for remainder of Champions Trophy

Riaz will play no further part in the Champions Trophy

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Pakistan will be without left-arm seamer Wahab Riaz for the rest of the Champions Trophy due to an ankle injury.

Riaz sustained the injury during Pakistan’s clash with India at Edgbaston on Sunday, which they lost by 124 runs via the Duckworth-Lewis method.

Riaz twisted his ankle while bowling in the 46th over of India’s innings and ended up leaving the field. To make matters worse, he conceded 87 runs off 8.1 overs, which gave him the record of the most expensive figures in Champions Trophy history.

Scans confirmed that Riaz suffered a “deltoid ligament complex” and he will need two weeks to fully recover.

Pakistan’s second Champions Trophy group stage game will be against South Africa on Wednesday.

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Leave a Reply