IPL 2017 Final: Mumbai Indians crowned IPL champions in last-ball thriller

The Indians are over the moon after winning the IPL

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

The Mumbai Indians won their third Indian Premier League (IPL) title after beating the Rising Pune Supergiants by one run in the final in Hyderabad.

Choosing to bat first, the Indians were dealt two blows early on as openers Parthiv Patel and Lendl Simmons were both dismissed by Jaydev Unadkat in the space of four balls.

Just as the Indians were beginning to recover, Ambati Rayudu was run out by Supergiants captain Steve Smith for 12.

This led to a major collapse as the Indians went from 41/3 to being reduced to 79/7.

With the Indians reeling, Krunal Pandya came to the rescue as he smashed 47 off 38 balls, which included three boundaries and two sixes, before falling to Dan Christian on the final ball of the innings.

Pandya was named Man of the Match for his pivotal knock of 47

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Thanks to Pandya’s crucial knock, the Indians finished on 129/8 off their 20 overs.

Christian, Unadkat and Adam Zampa picked up two wickets apiece.

Chasing 130 to win, the Supergiants lost opener Rahul Tripathi for three runs as he was given out lbw off the bowling of Jasprit Bumrah.

Smith and Ajinkya Rahane steadied the innings with a 54-run partnership before Rahane was sent packing by Mitchell Johnson for 44.

Even though Mahendra Singh Dhoni fell for 10, the Supergiants still seemed on course for victory.

Heading into the final over, things looked a lot more uncertain as the Supergiants needed 11 runs to win.

Manoj Tiwary struck a boundary off the first ball, but Johnson responded by taking two wickets in two balls as he took out Tiwary for seven and Smith for 51, which came off 50 balls and included two boundaries and two sixes.

Smith scored his fifth IPL fifty

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

With three runs coming off the next two balls, the Supergiants needed four runs for victory off the last ball of the match.

However, they only managed to get two runs before Washington Sundar was run out, which sparked wild celebrations from the Indians as they escaped with a one-run win and were declared winners of the 2017 IPL.

Johnson was the most successful bowler with three wickets, while Bumrah claimed two.

Pandya was named Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply