IPL 2017 Eliminator: Knight Riders dump defending champions out in rain-affected showdown

Coulter-Nile finished with figures of 3-20 off his four overs

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

The Sunrisers Hyderabad won’t retain their Indian Premier League (IPL) title after they lost to the Kolkata Knight Riders by seven wickets via the Duckworth-Lewis method.

The Knight Riders’ win means that they will now take on the Mumbai Indians in the second qualifier, with the winner going on to face the Rising Pune Supergiants in the final.

Choosing to bowl first, the Knight Riders struck early on as Shikhar Dhawan was caught behind off the bowling of Umesh Yadav for 11.

Captain David Warner and Kane Williamson made up for the loss of Dhawan with a 50-run partnership before Williamson was dismissed by Nathan Coulter-Nile for 24.

Warner went on to make 37 before he was clean bowled by Piyush Chawla.

With the Sunrisers continuing to lose wickets at regular intervals, they were restricted to 128/7 off their 20 overs.

Coulter-Nile was the pick of the bowlers with three wickets, while Yadav snapped up two, and Chawla and Trent Boult chipped in with one wicket apiece.

With the heavens parting during the innings break and a long delay ensuing, the Knight Riders were ultimately given a target of 48 to chase off six overs.

However, they did not get off to the best of starts as opener Chris Lynn was caught behind off the bowling of Bhuvneshwar Kumar for six runs off the third ball of the innings.

Yusuf Pathan was on his way back to the pavilion the very next ball as he was run out by Kumar for a golden duck.

Even though Chris Jordan sent Robin Uthappa packing shortly after, captain Gautam Gambhir and Ishank Jaggi calmed things down and went on to lead their side to victory with four balls to spare.

Gambhir finished unbeaten on 32 off 19 balls, which included two boundaries and two sixes, while Jaggi remained undefeated on five.

Kumar and Jordan claimed one wicket each.

Coulter-Nile was named Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply