De Kock wins big at South Africa cricket awards

De Kock walked away with a total of five awards

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

South Africa wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock took home a total of five awards, including the coveted Cricketer of the Year prize, at Cricket South Africa’s annual awards ceremony.

De Kock was also named Test Cricketer of the Year, ODI Cricketer of the Year, the Players’ Player of the Year and the Fans’ Player of the Year.

De Kock’s highlights included a career-best 178 in an ODI against Australia in September last year and a magnificent century in the Proteas’ innings and 80-run win over the Baggy Greens in Hobart in November 2016.

“What a year Quinton has had,” Cricket South Africa chief executive Haroon Lorgat said. “He has shown the maturity of a seasoned campaigner with performances that have really counted when needed most, often blowing away the opposition in the process.

“It is encouraging that for the second time in a row our premier award has gone to one of our young stars who is shining with distinction alongside our world-class senior players.

“The way the Proteas have come through to rise up the ICC rankings, in meteoric fashion, has been quite brilliant and we now have a real team in the true sense of the word.”

Meanwhile, spinner Imran Tahir claimed the T20 International Cricketer of the Year award as his impact with the ball in the shortest format could not be overlooked.

Tahir’s best moment during the judging period came when he registered career-best figures of 5-24 in a Twenty20 International against New Zealand in February this year.

Elsewhere, Sune Luus won the Women’s Cricketer of the Year prize, while Lizelle Lee received the Players’ Player award.

The international newcomer awards were given to Keshav Maharaj and Laura Wolvarrdt respectively.

In the domestic awards, Duanne Olivier was named Sunfoil Series Cricketer of the Year, while Henry Davids and Farhaan Behardien walked away with the List A Cricketer of the Season and T20 Challenge Player of the Season awards respectively.

“Our domestic cricket remains blessed with great talents. Congratulations to all the winners in those categories as well,” Lorgat said. “I warmly congratulate all our winners, both at international and domestic level, and I also wish to take this opportunity to acknowledge our umpires, grounds staff and scorers, too.”

List of award winners

  • SA Cricketer of the Year: Quinton de Kock
  • Test Cricketer of the Year: Quinton de Kock
  • ODI Cricketer of the Year: Quinton de Kock
  • T20 International Cricketer of the Year: Imran Tahir
  • SA Players’ Player of the Year: Quinton de Kock
  • SA Fans’ Player of the Year: Quinton de Kock
  • Award of Excellence: Temba Bavuma
  • Delivery of the Year: Kagiso Rabada
  • International Newcomer of the Year: Keshav Maharaj
  • Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Sune Luus
  • Women’s Players’ Player of the Year: Lizelle Lee
  • Women’s Newcomer of the Year: Laura Wolvaardt
  • First-class Cricketer of the Season: Duanne Olivier
  • List A Cricketer of the Season: Henry Davids
  • T20 Challenge Player of the Season: Farhaan Behardien
  • Coach of the Year: Mark Boucher
  • Domestic Players’ Player of the Season: Colin Ackermann
  • Domestic Newcomer of the Year: Aiden Markram
  • Africa T20 Cup Player of the Tournament: Patrick Kruger
  • SACA Most Valuable Player Award: Colin Ackermann

Leave a Reply