England recall Wood for Champions Trophy

Wood has not played international cricket since September last year

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

England have recalled pace bowler Mark Wood into their squad for the Champions Trophy, which will be held in their backyard in June.

Wood has not played any international cricket since the fifth ODI against Pakistan in September last year as he underwent ankle surgery yet again this past winter.

Wood’s inclusion in the squad means that fellow seamer Steven Finn misses out. However, Finn has been picked for the two-match ODI series against Ireland, along with batsman Ben Duckett, who failed to make the cut for the Champions Trophy squad as well.

Both Finn and Duckett were also overlooked for the ODI series against South Africa that precedes the Champions Trophy.

Left-arm seamer David Willey makes his return to the squad after missing the recent ODI series against the West Indies with a hand injury.

Meanwhile, captain Eoin Morgan and opening batsmen Jason Roy and Sam Billings will return home early from the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) in order to feature in the ODI series against Ireland.

As for wicketkeeper-batsman Jos Buttler and all-rounders Ben Stokes and Chris Woakes, they will head back to England in time for the ODI series against the Proteas.

“We have made encouraging progress over the past 18 months in white ball cricket and the squads selected reflect consistency and give options across all disciplines,” national selector James Whitaker said. “It is pleasing that Mark Wood and David Willey have returned to full fitness. They add variety and quality to our bowling strengths and David’s ability as an attacking batsman is also an important element for us.

“As we build-up to the ICC Champions Trophy in June, matches against Ireland and South Africa are very important in their own right as we aim to win both series.”

England’s Champions Trophy Squad: Eoin Morgan (capt), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

Leave a Reply