McClenaghan, Anderson and Milne included in New Zealand’s Champions Trophy squad

McClenaghan has not played international cricket since March 2016

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Left-arm seamer Mitchell McClenaghan, pace bowler Adam Milne and all-rounder Corey Anderson have all made the cut for New Zealand’s Champions Trophy squad.

The trio were recalled to the national team after proving their fitness in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL).

McClenaghan has taken 12 wickets in seven matches for the Mumbai Indians at an average of 20.25, while Milne, who is playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore, has claimed three wickets in two games at an average of 23.33. In regards to Anderson, he has only picked up one wicket for the Delhi Daredevils in two games at an average of 33.

McClenaghan and Milne have not played international cricket since the World Twenty20 last year as the former has been plagued with numerous niggles, the most recent of which was an ankle injury. As for Milne, he had been sidelined with hamstring, side and elbow injuries.

Anderson, on the other hand, recovered from a back injury to play in the Twenty20 series against Bangladesh and South Africa earlier this year.

“It’s been good to see all three back on the park and bowling; together they add a lot of experience to our squad,” New Zealand head coach Mike Hesson said. “Mitch and Adam have been running in well, and Corey has shown he’ll be capable of providing an option with the ball.

“We believe it’s an exciting squad; an experienced squad, and one that has the batting power and the bowling variations to prevail in a potentially high-scoring tournament.

“Having four all-rounders (including Mitchell Santner) certainly helps with balance, and the return of Mitch and Adam will offer options with the new ball, through the middle of the innings, and in the death overs.”

New Zealand’s Champions Trophy Squad: Kane Williamson (c), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Neil Broom, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Jimmy Neesham, Jeetan Patel, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.

Leave a Reply