Steyn not included in South Africa’s Champions Trophy squad

Steyn will not represent South Africa at the Champions Trophy

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Veteran pace bowler Dale Steyn failed to make the cut for South Africa’s Champions Trophy squad as he will continue his recovery from a shoulder injury.

Steyn has been sidelined since November last year as he underwent surgery to repair his shoulder.

However, he will be in England with the South Africa A squad as he was selected for their four-day game against the England Lions.

Meanwhile, the Proteas have opted to recall seamer Morne Morkel and bring in uncapped spinner Keshav Maharaj for the tournament.

Morkel has not played ODI cricket since June last year, but after making an impressive return from a back injury that threatened to cut his career short, the 32-year-old has been handed a lifeline in the 50-over format.

Morkel represented South Africa in the recent three-Test series against New Zealand and took 11 wickets at an average of 26.72.

With Maharaj having been picked, there was no place for fellow spinners Tabraiz Shamsi and Imran Tahir. Pace bowler Vernon Philander was also left out.

In an attempt to bolster their batting and bowling at the same time, the Proteas have selected four bowling all-rounders in the form of Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo and Dwaine Pretorius.

“We have been working with this group of players for the last two seasons where our key emphasis has been consitency in selection,” South Africa’s convener of selectors, Linda Zondi, said. “That has shown in how this group has performed over the last while, which has resulted in winning three consecutive ODI series.

“We feel we have a squad that covers every scenario that we could possibly be faced with on the tour. Most importantly, every player knows and understands their role and value within the squad.

“Keshav has had an exceptional debut season for the Test side and his inclusion in the squad gives us a spinner with a different skills and extra batting depth. We have seen how important it is to bat deep in ODI cricket, this option will give us that cover if needed.”

Prior to the Champions Trophy, South Africa will take on England in a three-match ODI series, which begins on May 24.

South Africa’s Champions Trophy Squad:¬†Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers (capt), JP Duminy, David Miller, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir, Keshav Maharaj, Dwaine Pretorius, Farhaan Behardien, Morne Morkel

Leave a Reply