Williamson dominates at NZC awards ceremony

Williamson claimed the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal, was named T20I Player of the Year, and won the Redpath Cup

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson took home three awards at New Zealand Cricket’s ceremony in Auckland on Thursday.

For the second year in a row, Williamson was named Player of the Year and thus claimed the coveted Sir Richard Hadlee Medal.

In addition to being bestowed with the Player of the Year honour, Williamson also won the Redpath Cup for his batting in first-class cricket for a second successive year. He also won the T20I Player of the Year award.

During the judging period, Williamson scored 1,079 Test runs, which include four centuries, at an average of 59.94. In that time, he equalled Martin Crowe’s record of 17 Test centuries and also became the fastest New Zealand player to accumulate 5,000 Test runs.

As for his limited overs record in that period of time, the 26-year-old scored 695 runs at an average of 40.88 in ODIs, while in Twenty20 Internationals, he made 158 runs at an average of 52.66.

Meanwhile, left-arm seamer Neil Wagner picked up the Test Player of the Year award for taking 56 wickets and also secured the Winsor Cup for his bowling in first-class cricket.

During the recently concluded summer at home, Wagner became the second-fastest New Zealand bowler, after Richard Hadlee, to take 100 Test wickets.

Opening batsman Martin Guptill captured the ODI Player of the Year award for scoring 570 runs at an average of 47.50. In that time, Guptill scored a sensational 180 against South Africa and the 30-year-old now holds the record for the most 180-plus scores in ODI history with three.

Elsewhere, Amy Satterthwaite claimed the Women’s ODI player of the year award after equalling Kumar Sangakkara’s record of four consecutive ODI hundreds. The 30-year-old ended up with 935 runs to her name during the judging period at an average of 103.88.

Meanwhile, New Zealand women’s captain Suzie Bates received the Women’s T20 Player of the Year prize.

List of winners at 2017 NZC Awards

Sir Richard Hadlee medal for player of the year: Kane Williamson

Test player of the year: Neil Wagner

Men’s ODI player of the year: Martin Guptill

Men’s T20I player of the year: Kane Williamson

Women’s ODI player of the year: Amy Satterthwaite

Women’s T20 player of the year: Suzie Bates

Winsor Cup (first-class bowling): Neil Wagner

Redpath Cup (first-class batting): Kane Williamson

T20 domestic player of the year: Glenn Phillips

Ruth Martin Cup (women’s domestic batting): Katey Martin

Phyl Blackler Cup (women’s domestic bowling): Leigh Kasperek

Bert Sutcliffe medal for outstanding service: Neil Sulzberger

Leave a Reply