Zimbabwe vs Afghanistan 5th ODI: Afghanistan annihilate Zimbabwe to win series

Rahmat scored his third ODI fifty

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

With the series on the line, both Afghanistan and Zimbabwe were looking to put up a strong performance in the series finale in Harare, but it was the former who came out on top as they bowled their opponents out for just 54 to secure a 106-run win via the Duckworth-Lewis method.

Afghanistan had not been at their best in the previous two ODIs and allowed Zimbabwe to get back into the series and level it at 2-2, but their superb performance on Sunday capped off a great tour as they claimed the series 3-2.

Opting to bat first, Afghanistan got off to a brisk start before opener Mohammad Shahzad was clean bowled by Richard Ngarava for 20.

Gulbadin Naib could only make six runs, while Shahzad’s opening partner, Noor Ali Zadran, made 46 before being dismissed by Chris Mpofu.

Afghanistan continued to lose wickets at regular intervals after Noor’s dismissal, but Rahmat Shah continued to fight until he was run out by Malcolm Waller for 50 off 79 balls, which included one boundary.

Najibullah Zadran fell soon after, but Mohammad Nabi gave his side a huge spark with a quickfire 48.

Thanks to Nabi’s late fireworks, Afghanistan finished on 253/9 off their 50 overs.

Mpofu was the pick of the bowlers with three wickets, while Ngarava snapped up two and Sean Williams and captain Graeme Cremer chipped in with one wicket apiece.

During the innings break, the rain came, but after a lengthy delay, the match resumed and Zimbabwe were given a revised total of 161 to win off 22 overs.

But, the hosts did not get anywhere close to their target as they found themselves in trouble early on at 13/4 in the fifth over.

They were unable to recover from losing their top order at such a rapid rateĀ and continued to lose wickets until they were eventually skittled out for a dismal 54.

Ryan Burl, who scored 11 not out, and Cremer, who made 14, were the only two batsmen to reach double figures.

Nabi and Amir Hamza took three wickets apiece, while Rashid Khan got two and Naib and Dawlat Zadran claimed one wicket each.

Rahmat was named Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply