India retain same squad for first two Tests against Australia

India have opted against making any changes to their Test squad

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

India have opted not to fiddle with their squad for the first two Tests against Australia.

It was believed that a few changes would have been made, especially as batsman Rohit Sharma was approaching full fitness, but no explanation was given as to why he continued to be left out of the squad.

Furthermore, pace bowler Mohammed Shami and spinner Amit Mishra did not make the cut either and it is understood that they, along with Rohit, are still working towards making a full recovery.

Rohit underwent surgery after injuring his thigh in the ODI series against New Zealand last year, while Shami and Mishra are nursing knee injuries. Shami hurt his knee during the Test series against England, while Mishra injured his knee in the third and final Twenty20 International against England in Bangalore on February 1.

With the trio out, Karun Nair, Kuldeep Yadav and Hardik Pandya retained their spots in the side, but it remains to be seen whether they will be picked. Batsman Abhinav Mukund, who last played Test cricket in August 2011, also kept hold of his place, but he is unlikely to feature in the first two Tests.

The five-Test series begins on February 23 in Pune.

India Test Squad: Virat Kohli (capt), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Abhinav Mukund, Karun Nair, Hardik Pandya, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha, Ishant Sharma, M Vijay, Jayant Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav.

Leave a Reply