BBL 2016/17 Final: Scorchers crowned champions after annihilating Sixers

The Scorchers pose with the trophy after winning the BBL

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

The Perth Scorchers were bestowed with the honour of being named Big Bash League (BBL) champions after they demolished the Sydney Sixers by nine wickets.

This is the third time the Scorchers have won the tournament, with their last two triumphs coming in 2013/14 and 2014/15.

Choosing to bowl first, the Scorchers were all over the Sixers early on as Mitchell Johnson and Ashton Turner turned the heat up and left their opponents struggling at 17/3.

Sixers captain Moises Henriques and wicketkeeper Brad Haddin managed to stabilise the innings with a 57-run partnership before Haddin was dismissed by Jhye Richardson for 38.

Henriques fell shortly after for 21 and the Sixers began to collpase one again. However, thanks to Johan Botha’s quickfire 32, the Sixers managed to finish on 141/9 off their 20 overs.

Richardson and Tim Bresnan picked up three wickets apiece, while Johnson and Turner snapped up one wicket each.

Chasing 142 to win, the Scorchers got off to a fantastic start as openers Sam Whiteman and Michael Klinger amassed a 75-run partnership.

With the Scorchers cruising, the Sixers were in desperate need of a wicket, and it was Nathan Lyon who delivered it as he had Whiteman stumped for 41.

Klinger and Ian Bell mopped up the remaining runs via an unbeaten 69-run stand and the Scorchers subsequently won the match with 25 balls to spare.

Klinger finished on 71 off 49 balls, which included five boundaries and five sixes, while Bell remained undefeated on 31 off 25 deliveries, which included two boundaries and a six.

Klinger hammered five boundaries and five sixes during his unbeaten knock of 71

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Lyon was the only bowler to take a wicket.

Richardson was named Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply