Mishra, Rasool added to India’s T20 squad

Mishra last played Twenty20 cricket in August last year

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

India have called up spinners Amit Mishra and Parvez Rasool to their squad for the upcoming Twenty20 series against England, which begins on Thursday.

Mishra and Rasool were brought in after a decision was made to rest India’s go-to spin duo of Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja. Ashwin and Jadeja had initially been included in the 15-man squad.

Mishra featured in two matches of the recent five-Test series against England and picked up five wickets. Prior to that, he was the highest wicket-taker in the ODI series against New Zealand as he claimed 15 wickets at an average of 14.33.

Rasool, meanwhile, has yet to make his Twenty20 International debut, but has featured in one ODI for India, which came against Bangladesh in Dhaka in June 2014.

It is understood that the national selectors opted to give Rasool a chance to play in the series as India will not be competing in any high-profile Twenty20 competitions in the near future.

Updated India T20 Squad: KL Rahul, Mandeep Singh, Virat Kohli (capt), MS Dhoni (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Amit Mishra, Parvez Rasool, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manish Pandey, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra.

Leave a Reply