Uncapped De Silva picked in Sri Lanka’s T20 squad


Sandakan is set to make his Twenty20 debut later this month

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Sri Lanka have drafted uncapped batting all-rounder Thikshila de Silva in their squad for the upcoming Twenty20 series against South Africa.

De Silva has yet to play any form of international cricket and has featured in 16 domestic Twenty20 matches thus far, in which he has scored 218 runs at an average of 16.76 and a strike rate of 144.37. He has also taken six wickets at an average of 29.33.

The other uncapped player in the squad is Lakshan Sandakan, who has represented Sri Lanka in three Tests and an ODI to date.

All-rounder Seekkuge Prasanna found a place in the squad, while seamers Isuru Udana and Nuwan Kulasekara were recalled.

However, there was no place for leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay and pace bowler Dushmantha Chameera.

Furthermore, Sri Lanka omitted some high-profile players from the side, including Kusal Perera, Thisara Perera and Dasun Shanaka.

Veteran pace bowler Lasith Malinga was not considered for selection as he is recovery from a bout of dengue fever.

The three-match Twenty20 series between Sri Lanka and South Africa will begin on January 20 in Centurion.

Sri Lanka T20 Squad: Angelo Mathews (capt), Dinesh Chandimal, Danushka Gunathilaka, Seekkuge Prasanna, Niroshan Dickwella, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Isuru Udana, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Asela Gunaratne, Sachith Pathirana, Lakshan Sandakan, Thikshila de Silva, Nuwan Kulasekara.

Leave a Reply