Bangladesh recall Nasir for World T20

Hossain will represent Bangladesh at the World T20

Hossain will represent Bangladesh at the World T20

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Bangladesh have recalled all-rounder Nasir Hossain into their squad for the upcoming World Twenty20 in India in March.

Hossain, who has not played a Twenty20 International since November 2015, is not the only player Bangladesh recalled as wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Mithun also made the cut.

Mithun has not played a Twenty20 International since August 2014 and his inclusion in the squad leaves Bangladesh with three wicketkeeper-batsmen as Mushfiqur Rahim and Nurul Hasan are also in the team.

“Mithun impressed in South Africa and Zimbabwe for Bangladesh A last year,” chief selector Faruque Ahmed said. “We thought of a particular place, and we discussed that with the coaching staff. This is why we picked Mithun as a batsman who can play in the top and middle order. He is quite experienced in this format. We always felt he is a T20 player and his A-team performance put him in consideration.

“Mithun wasn’t fully fit during the Zimbabwe series but he was at the training camp in Khulna that was held after the international series. He performed well there in the practice matches. But at the top level, we haven’t seen his full potential. Mithun is a good player who can show his worth if given chance in the right time and place. We had to think long and hard about Imrul [Kayes] and Mithun. The team management – coach and captain – discussed this at length and I think we all took a good decision.”

Ahmed added that Bangladesh’s Asia Cup T20 squad is likely to be “very similar” to the World T20 team.

“Imrul, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Shuvagata and Muktar will also join this squad in their training camp in Chittagong [from February 7],” he said. “They are the four standbys and have been kept with the Asia Cup in mind.”

In order to make it to the Super 10 stage of the World Twenty20, Bangladesh will have to finish atop their qualifying group, which includes Netherlands, Ireland and Oman.

Bangladesh World T20 squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Arafat Sunny, Abu Hider, Nurul Hasan

Leave a Reply