Fernando set to make T20 comeback

Fernando's last Twenty20 International came in November 2011

Fernando’s last Twenty20 International came in November 2011

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Sri Lanka pace bowler Dilhara Fernando is set to make his Twenty20 return after he was included in the squad for the upcoming three-match series against India.

Fernando has not represented Sri Lanka in a Twenty20 International since November 2011.

Meanwhile, all-rounder Seekkuge Prasanna is also back in the squad after nearly two years away from the format as his last Twenty20 International came against the West Indies in April 2014.

There was no place in the side for batsman Lahiru Thirimanne and veteran spinner Ajantha Mendis.

Sri Lanka Twenty20 captain Lasith Malinga, all-rounder Angelo Mathews, spinner Rangana Herath and pace bowler Nuwan Pradeep have not been considered for selection as they are nursing a knee injury, groin strain, pulled side muscle and hamstring injury respectively.

With Malinga out, Dinesh Chandimal will continue as captain as he also led Sri Lanka during their two-match Twenty20 series against New Zealand earlier this month.

Sri Lanka T20 Squad: Dinesh Chandimal (capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Seekuge Prasanna, Milinda Siriwardana, Danushka Gunathilaka, Thisara Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Asela Gunaratne, Chamara Kapugedera, Dushmantha Chameera, Dilhara Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Binura Fernando, Sachithra Senanayake, Jeffrey Vandersay

Leave a Reply