Warner wins Allan Border Medal

Warner (left) won the Allan Border Medal

Warner (left) won the Allan Border Medal

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Australia opening batsman David Warner won the Allan Border Medal for the first time in his career in Melbourne on Wednesday.

Even though Australia captain Steven Smith outscored Warner, who was also crowned Test Player of the Year, in all formats of the game, the 29-year-old was still awarded the Allan Border Medal ahead of Smith as he received 240 votes, while Smith, who won the Allan Border Medal last year, got 219 votes. Left-arm pace bowler Mitchell Starc was third with 183 votes.

Upon receiving the Allan Border Medal, Warner credited his wife Candice for helping him turn his career around after he was suspended for his altercation with England batsman Joe Root in a bar in England in 2013.

Warner added that he thought Smith was going to win the Allan Border Medal for the second time.

“My heart is racing, I honestly thought Smudge had a terrific year and he would have taken this out,” Warner said. “People said to me I can be one of the greats of the game but you just sit there and let that go through both of your ears. You can only control what you control and for me that’s being the best person I can be on and off the field.

“That means a lot to me. I look back and looking through the Twenty20 cricket that I came through, to put myself into the New South Wales Shield team and then giving myself the opportunity to put my hand up for selection for an Australian baggy green.

“Something that I really will cherish for the rest of my life, getting that baggy green presented to me by Slats [Michael Slater], similar way we played, aggressive, try to take it to the bowlers, it’s something I’m really grateful for.”

Meanwhile, all-rounder Glenn Maxwell was named ODI Player of the Year ahead of Starc and fellow all-rounder Mitchell Marsh.

Australia all-rounder Ellyse Perry won the Belinda Clark Award, South Australia batsman Alex Ross received the Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year award and Australia batsman Adam Voges was named Domestic Player of the Year for the first time in his career.

Leave a Reply