BBL 2015/16 2nd Semi-Final: Stars knock out defending champions

Pietersen carried the Stars into the BBL final

Pietersen carried the Stars into the BBL final

Image courtesy Zimbio

A new Big Bash League (BBL) champion will be crowned after Kevin Pietersen’s magnificent innings of 62 saw the Melbourne Stars defeat the Perth Scorchers, who are the defending champions, by seven wickets.

Stars captain David Hussey would have been delighted with his decision to bowl first as Scorchers skipper Adam Voges and Michael Klinger were the only batsmen to make major contributions.

Voges top-scored with a superb innings of 52, which came off 40 balls and included six boundaries, while Klinger made 44. With none of the other batsmen chipping in, the Scorchers were restricted to 139/7 off their 20 overs.

Voges scored a valiant 52

Voges scored a valiant 52

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Daniel Worrall was the pick of the bowlers with three wickets, while Ben Hilfenhaus, Michael Beer, Adam Zampa and Marcus Stoinis took one wicket apiece.

Chasing 140 to win, the Stars lost Luke Wright early before Pietersen and Stoinis put their side in a commanding position by amassing a 69-run partnership before Stoinis was given out lbw off the bowling of Brad Hogg for 44.

Pietersen went on to make 62 off 36 deliveries, which included five boundaries and two sixes, before he was clean bowled by Joel Paris.

Peter Handscomb and Hussey mopped up the remaining runs as the Stars won the match with 11 balls to spare and will now face the Sydney Thunder in the final.

Hogg, Paris and David Willey claimed one wicket each.

Pietersen was named Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply