India vs South Africa 3rd Test Day 2: South Africa set 310 to win after 20 wickets fall

Ashwin picked up six wickets in total on the second day

Ashwin ripped through South Africa’s batting line-up once again

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

South Africa were set a target of 310 to win by India after an incredible day saw 20 wickets tumble in Nagpur.

Starting off the day on 11/2, the Proteas failed to muster any kind of offense in their first innings and were subsequently left embarrassed and humiliated as they were skittled out for 79, which is the lowest total against India in Test cricket. South Africa’s dismal total also gave India a 136-run lead.

Ravichandran Ashwin inflicted the most damage as he picked up five wickets, while Ravindra Jadeja snapped up four and Amit Mishra chipped in with one.

With a 136-run lead in hand, India struggled throughout their second innings as none of their batsmen were able to make any major contributions.

Opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan was the highest-scorer with 39, while Cheteshwar Pujara added 31. Rohit Sharma was the only other batsman to surpass the 20-run mark as India were bundled out for 173, which left the Proteas needing 310 to win.

Imran Tahir was the most successful bowler as he claimed five wickets, while Morne Morkel took three and Simon Harmer and JP Duminy collected one wicket apiece.

Tahir (right) finished with figures of 5-38 off 11.3 overs

Tahir (right) finished with figures of 5-38 off 11.3 overs

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Chasing 310 to win, South Africa once again found themselves in a spot of bother as opener Stiaan van Zyl was dismissed by Ashwin before Tahir, who came in as the nightwatchman, was on his way back to the pavilion a short while later after being trapped lbw by Mishra.

Dean Elgar and captain Hashim Amla managed to put together an unbeaten three-run partnership before stumps was called.

Elgar finished on 10 off 42 balls, which included one boundary, while Amla remained undefeated on three.

Ashwin and Mishra picked up one wicket each.

South Africa ended day two on 32/2 and will continue batting tomorrow at 09:30 local time or 04:00 GMT.

Leave a Reply