Sri Lanka vs West Indies 3rd ODI: Perera helps Sri Lanka complete 3-0 whitewash

Perera celebrates after scoring his seventh ODI fifty

Perera celebrates after scoring his seventh ODI fifty

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Sri Lanka opener Kusal Perera played an instrumental role in his side’s 19-run win via the Duckworth-Lewis method in the third ODI against the West Indies in Pallekele as he smashed a quickfire 50.

For West Indies all-rounder Marlon Samuels, the loss would have left a bitter taste in his mouth as he hammered an unbeaten 110.

Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews would have been delighted with his decision to bowl first as West Indies openers Johnson Charles and Andre Fletcher were dismissed for four and six respectively.

Following Fletcher’s dismissal, there was a short rain delay before the West Indies’ collapse continued. The tourists had been reduced to 103/6 when the heavens parted again. With the delay being a lot lengthier this time around, the match was reduced to 36 overs per side.

However, when the match resumed, all of the West Indian batsmen, with the exception of Samuels, continued to falter. Samuels ended up scoring 110 off 95 balls, which included 15 boundaries and a six as the West Indies finished on 206/9 off their 36 overs.

Samuels' ninth ODI century went in vain

Samuels’ ninth ODI century went in vain

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Dushmantha Chameera and Ajantha Mendis picked up two wickets apiece, while Mathews chipped in with one.

Chasing 190 to win since the Duckworth-Lewis method was in effect, Sri Lanka got off to a firm start before Tillakaratne Dilshan was dismissed for 21. Lahiru Thirimanne also made 21 before he was on his way back to the pavilion, while Perera was the third wicket to fall after he blasted 50 off 47 balls, which included two boundaries and two sixes.

The rest of the Sri Lankan line-up made small, but valuable, contributions and the team were on 179 for 5 after 32 overs when the rain returned and ended the match. With the par-score at the end of the 32nd over being 160, Sri Lanka were declared the winners by 19 runs.

West Indies captain Jason Holder was the most successful bowler with two wickets, while Ravi Rampaul, Jonathan Carter and Carlos Brathwaite claimed one wicket each.

Samuels was named Man of the Match, while Perera received the Man of the Series award.

Leave a Reply