Pakistan vs England 1st Test Day 2: Malik and Shafiq punish England

Malik celebrates after scoring his maiden Test double century

Malik celebrates after scoring his maiden Test double century

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

It was another gruelling day for England in Abu Dhabi as Pakistan all-rounder Shoaib Malik and batsman Asad Shafiq continued their onslaught.

Starting out the day on 286/4, Malik and Shafiq converted their 35-run partnership into a 248-run stand, during which Malik brought up his maiden Test double century and Shafiq his eighth Test century.

England pace bowler Mark Wood finally broke the partnership when he trapped Shafiq lbw for 107 off 218 balls, which included 10 boundaries.

Shafiq did review the decision, but replays showed that the ball was pitching in line and going on to hit leg stump. This led to the third umpire upholding the original decision.

Shafiq hit 10 boundaries during his knock of 107

Shafiq hit 10 boundaries during his knock of 107

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Following Shafiq’s dismissal, Pakistan began to lose wickets in a hurry, starting with wicketkeeper Sarfraz Ahmed, who was caught by Ian Bell at mid-off off the bowling of Ben Stokes for two runs.

Just under two overs later, England finally got the wicket they had been searching for all day as Malik was caught Bell at short midwicket off the bowling of Stokes.

Malik’s career-best knock of 245 came off 420 balls and included 24 boundaries and four sixes.

Stokes struck again in his next over, removing Zulfiqar Babar for a duck, before Pakistan decided to declare on 523/8.

Stokes was the pick of the bowlers with four wickets, while James Anderson snapped up two and Wood and Stuart Broad claimed one wicket each.

Trailing by 523 runs, England got off to an encouraging start as captain Alastair Cook and Moeen Ali amassed an unbeaten 56-run partnership before stumps was called.

Cook finished on 39 off 62 balls, which included two boundaries, while Ali remained undefeated on 15.

England ended day two on 56/0 and will continue batting tomorrow at 10:00 local time or 06:00 GMT.

Leave a Reply