Bangladesh retain same squad for first Test

Bangladesh have opted not to make any changes to their Test squad

Bangladesh have opted not to make any changes to their Test squad

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Bangladesh have not made any changes to their Test squad for the first Test against Australia, which starts on October 9 in Chittagong.

However, Bangladesh will have to wait and see if Australia even agree to send their players to the country for the two-Test series as Cricket Australia postponed the Baggy Greens’ departure due to security concerns.

Cricket Australia chief executive James Sutherland pointed out that Smartraveller, the Australian government’s travel advice website, recently issued a warning to all Australians travelling to Bangladesh, which said: “There is reliable information to suggest that militants may be planning to target Australian interests in Bangladesh.”

The fate of the series will now depend on the outcome of meetings being held between Australia security chief Sean Carroll and government and police officials in Bangladesh. According to reports, Bangladesh security officials have assured the Australian team will have fool-proof security throughout the series. Despite this, it is still unclear whether the series will go ahead as planned, be postponed or be cancelled altogether.

Bangladesh squad for the first Test: Mushfiqur Rahim (capt), Tamim Iqbal (vice-capt), Imrul Kayes, Jubair Hossain, Liton Das, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Shahid, Mominul Haque, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Shakib Al Hasan, Soumya Sarkar, Taijul Islam

Leave a Reply