PNG’s Siaka included in Prime Minister’s XI squad

Siaka scored his maiden ODI century during Papua New Guinea's debut ODI series against Hong Kong in November

Siaka scored his maiden ODI century during Papua New Guinea’s debut ODI series against Hong Kong in November

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Papua New Guinea batsman Lega Siaka has been included in the Prime Minister’s XI squad that will face England in Canberra on January 14.

Australia all-rounder Glenn Maxwell and pace bowler Pat Cummins have also been drafted into the side, which will be led by Michael Hussey.

In addition to Maxwell and Cummins, the Prime Minister’s XI squad will also consist of Jason Behrendorff, Cameron Bancroft, Simon Mackin, Peter Handscomb, David Moody and Jake Doran.

“This match is a special fixture on the Australian cricketing calendar and a magnificent tradition,” Australia’s chairman of selectors Rod Marsh said. “Mike Hussey will lead the team well and is a great drawcard, as is local boy Jason Behrendorff, who has been in fantastic form this summer across all three formats.

“Fans will also be looking forward to seeing Pat Cummins and Glenn Maxwell in action. Pat has been in excellent form bowling fast for the Sydney Thunder this summer, while Glenn can electrify the crowd with his daring and aggressive stroke play.

“Eighteen-year-old batsman Jake Doran is in the team, and he will also take the gloves. I think we all realise what a great talent Jake is, and his selection will provide another opportunity for him to continue his development.

“We are also excited about 22-year-old batsman Lega Siaka, contracted to the Melbourne Renegades in the Big Bash League. Lega scored a century for Papua New Guinea in their first ever one-day international series in November when they defeated Hong Kong, and he is a confident young batsman who will excite the fans. His selection highlights PNG’s growth as a cricketing nation.”

Prime Minister’s XI: Michael Hussey (capt), Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Matt Condon, Pat Cummins, Jake Doran (wk), Peter Handscomb, Simon Mackin, Glenn Maxwell, David Moody, Lega Siaka, Mac Wright (12th man)

Leave a Reply