Tsotsobe included in South Africa’s preliminary World Cup squad

Tsotsobe's last ODI for South Africa came against India in December 2013

Tsotsobe’s last ODI for South Africa came against India in December 2013

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Out-of-favour South Africa left-arm pace bowler Lonwabo Tsotsobe has been included in South Africa’s 30-man preliminary World Cup squad.

Tsotsobe, who was the top-ranked ODI bowler from February 2012 to May 2013, has not represented South Africa in an ODI since December 2013.

“He has definitely got the numbers and it will be nice for him to get to the World Cup,” Geoffrey Toyana, who coaches Tsotsobe when he plays for the Highveld Lions, told ESPNcricinfo. “He is the leader of our attack and he has made sure he contributes to the development of the younger guys.”

Some of the other surprising inclusions include the veteran trio of Andrew Puttick, Morne van Wyk and Justin Ontong.

Puttick has only played one ODI in his career, which came against New Zealand in October 2005. Van Wyk meanwhile has not played an ODI for South Africa since the 2011 World Cup and in terms of Ontong, he last represented the Proteas in an ODI in September 2012.

South Africa’s preliminary World Cup squad: AB de Villiers, Hashim Amla, Kyle Abbott, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, Marchant de Lange, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan Mclaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Aaron Phangiso, Vernon Philander, Andrew Puttick, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Mthokozisi Shezi, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Morne van Wyk, David Wiese

Leave a Reply