Bhuvneshwar honoured to win BCCI Cricketer of the Year award

"It feels really special to hold this trophy"

“It feels really special to hold this trophy”

Image courtesy of:

India pace bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar has announced that he was honoured to win the Polly Umrigar Trophy, which is given to the Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI) Player of the Year.

Kumar won the award due to his excellent performance during India’s disastrous five-Test series against England. The 24-year-old scored 247 runs, which included three half-centuries, at an average of 27.44 and took 19 wickets, which included two five-wicket hauls, at a brilliant average of 26.63.

“This reminds me [of the time] when Virender Sehwag was awarded the Cricketer of the Year trophy in 2007-08 and I was the Under-19 cricketer of the year, I walked up to him and asked him if I could see from close how the big Cricketer of the Year trophy is,” he said at the award ceremony in Mumbai. “It feels really special to hold this trophy today.

“I would like to thank all my team-mates today. Without them, I wouldn’t have been able to hold this trophy.”

Meanwhile, former India captain Dilip Vengsarkar was ecstatic to have been awarded the CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award.

“I was going through the list of the previous award winners and it’s an immensely honourable feeling to have joined such a special league. I thank the BCCI for honouring me with this prestigious award,” Vengsarkar said.

Leave a Reply