Johnson named ICC Cricketer of the Year

Johnson has been in red-hot form ever since he made his Test return

Johnson has been in red-hot form ever since he made his Test return

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Australia left-arm pace bowler Mitchell Johnson has been named the International Cricket Council (ICC) Cricketer of the Year and Test Cricketer of the Year.

“Aggressive fast bowlers are something you’d have seen back in the day with the likes of [Dennis] Lillee and [Jeff] Thomson,” Johnson said. “For me, it’s nice to be able to contribute to the team and do the job that I’ve always thought I’ve been able to do. I suppose it comes down to the attitude I’ve got, the belief and the confidence.

“I’m very happy with where I am at the moment and I want to keep getting better as a cricketer. This [the awards] is something that I’ll be able to look back on in time when my career is over and be exceptionally proud of.”

South Africa ODI captain AB de Villiers won the ODI Cricketer of the Year award, while Australia opener Aaron Finch was awarded the T20 performance award for his superb innings of 156 off 63 balls against England in August 2013.

England batsman Gary Ballance was named Emerging Cricketer of the Year, while England’s Sarah Taylor was awarded the Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year and Australia captain Meg Lanning won the Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year award.

Meanwhile, Scotland skipper Preston Mommsen got the Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year award and Richard Kettleborough picked up the Umpire of the Year award.

England’s Katherine Brunt was given the Spirit of Cricket award and, as previously announced, India pace bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar won the People’s Choice award.


Awards list

ICC Cricketer of the Year – Mitchell Johnson

Test Cricketer of the Year – Mitchell Johnson

Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year – Sarah Taylor

ODI Cricketer of the Year – AB de Villiers

Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Gary Ballance

Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year – Preston Mommsen

T20 International Performance of the Year – Aaron Finch

T20I Women’s Cricketer of the Year – Meg Lanning

Spirit of Cricket Award – Katherine Brunt

Umpire of the Year – Richard Kettleborough

LG People’s Choice – Bhuvneshwar Kumar

ICC Test Team of the Year
David Warner, Kane Williamson, Kumar Sangakkara, AB de Villiers (wk), Joe Root, Angelo Mathews (capt), Mitchell Johnson, Stuart Broad, Dale Steyn, Rangana Herath, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor (12th man)

ICC ODI Team of the Year
Mohammad Hafeez, Quinton de Kock, Virat Kohli, George Bailey, AB de Villiers, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt & wk), Dwayne Bravo, James Faulkner, Dale Steyn, Mohammed Shami, Ajantha Mendis, Rohit Sharma (12th man)

Leave a Reply