Nadir Shah is still banned, says Nazmul Hassan

Hassan revealed that a miscommunication led to Shah officiating the match

Hassan revealed that a miscommunication led to Shah officiating the match

Image courtesy of: Fox Sports

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) president Nazmul Hassan has confirmed that umpire Nadir Shah is still banned after he was allowed to officiate in a domestic Twenty20 match recently.

Hassan also noted that a “miscommunication” led to Shah officiating the match.

“I only read about the Nadir Shah situation in the papers today,” Hassan said. “The board has taken a decision against him in the past, and that will stand, the 10-year ban, until and unless the decision is changed. We have seen his mercy application, but we haven’t reached a decision yet.

“The board was not involved in this matter; we didn’t allow him [to umpire]. He umpired a game due to a miscommunication at some level. The board didn’t decide. The BCB CEO [Nizamuddin Chowdhury] will take an independent decision.”

Leave a Reply