Mathews named Cricketer of the Year at SLC awards ceremony

Mathews and Sangakkara were both named Test Batsman of the Year

Mathews and Sangakkara were both named Test Batsman of the Year

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews has been named Cricketer of the Year at this year’s Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) awards ceremony.

Mathews also won Test Batsman of the Year, which he shared with Kumar Sangakkara, ODI Batsman of the Year and ODI All-rounder of the Year.

Mathews has been in sublime form over the past 12 months, scoring 1,292 Test runs at an incredible average of 92.28. He also amassed 965 ODI runs at a brilliant average of 53.61.

Sangakkara has won the Test batsman of the Year award for the fourth year straight, and rightfully so, especially after he amassed 1,502 runs, which included a career-best 319, over the past 12 months at an impressive average of 75.10.

Meanwhile, spinner Rangana Herath was named Test bowler of the Year for taking 60 wickets in 10 matches, which included a career-best 9-127, during the qualifying period.

Lasith Malinga picked up the ODI and T20 Bowler of the Year awards, while Thisara Perera took home the T20 All-rounder of the Year award and Kusal Perera won T20 Batsman of the Year.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Niroshan Dickwella was chosen as SLC’s Emerging Player of the Year, thanks to the excellent start he has made to his Test career. In the three matches he has played thus far, Dickwella has taken 12 catches and made two stumping. He also scored a quickfire 72 against South Africa on debut. In addition winning SLC’s Emerging Player of the Year, Dickwella was also named Best Batsman of the Premier Limited-Overs Tournament.

Former Sri Lanka captain Shashikala Siriwardene was the biggest winner in the women’s categories as she snapped up the Best Bowler and Best All-rounder awards. Chamari Atapattu picked up the award for Best Batsman.

Jehan Mubarak was named Best Batsman for the Premier League Tournament after scoring 1,165 runs at a jaw-dropping average of 105.90. Left-arm spinner Lakshan Rangika snapped up the Best Bowler award for taking 54 wickets, and Jeevan Mendis claimed the Best All-rounder award.

Leave a Reply