Philander not included in South Africa’s squad for ODI tri-series

Philander will miss the tri-series due to a hamstring injury

Philander will miss the tri-series due to a hamstring injury

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

South Africa pace bowler Vernon Philander has not been included in the national team’s squad for the upcoming ODI tri-series against Zimbabwe and Australia due to a hamstring injury.

This is yet another huge blow to Philander’s aim of cementing a permanent spot in South Africa’s ODI squad.

Philander’s performance in limited overs cricket does not reflect that of the stellar Test career he has had thus far. The 29-year-old has represented South Africa in 15 ODIs and taken 17 wickets at an average of 26.05. But, that doesn’t hold a candle to what he has accomplished in his relatively short Test career. Philander has played 26 Tests and taken 115 wickets at an astounding average of 21.57. In fact, Philander became the second-fastest bowler to take 50 Test wickets, needing only seven matches to complete the incredible feat.

The other major omission from the squad is fellow pace bowler Beuran Hendricks, who was ruled out due to a back injury he picked up while representing South Africa A during their tour of Australia.

With Philander and Hendricks ruled out of the series, it means that Kyle Abbott and Mthokozisi Shezi keep their places in the side. Abbott played every game in the recently concluded three-match ODI series against Zimbabwe and took two wickets at an average of 33.50, while Shezi made his debut in the third ODI and took one wicket at an average of eight.

“Kyle impressed in the three matches he played against Zimbabwe while Mthokozisi, who also did well on his debut today, is a like-for-like replacement for Beuran,” Cricket South Africa selection chief Andrew Hudson said. “It was also pleasing to see Marchant de Lange resume his international career so well after a lengthy injury break and he underlines the tremendous depth we have to our fast bowling resources at the moment.”

The ODI tri-series begins on August 25 with hosts Zimbabwe taking on Australia in Harare.

South Africa ODI tri-series Squad: AB de Villiers (capt), Hashim Amla (vc), Kyle Abbott , Quinton de Kock (wk), JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Rilee Rossouw, Mthokozisi Shezi, Dale Steyn

Leave a Reply