Elgar reprimanded for hitting stump with his bat

Elgar pleaded guilty to breaching Article 2.1.2 of the ICC Code of Conduct

Elgar pleaded guilty to breaching Article 2.1.2 of the ICC Code of Conduct

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

South Africa opening batsman Dean Elgar has been reprimanded after he hit a stump with his bat during the fourth day of the only Test against Zimbabwe in Harare.

Elgar pleaded guilty to a Level 1 breach of the International Cricket Council (ICC) Code of Conduct, which means that there will be no need for a formal hearing.

Elgar was found to have breached Article 2.1.2 of the Code of Conduct, which relates to “Abuse of cricket equipment or clothing, ground equipment or fixtures and fittings during an international match”.

The charges against Elgar were brought forth by on-field umpires Aleem Dar and Chris Gaffaney, third umpire Jeremiah Matibiri and fourth umpire Owen Chirombe.

Leave a Reply