South Africa retain winning team for one-off Test against Zimbabwe

"The Proteas have earned a vote of confidence"

“The Proteas have earned a vote of confidence”

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

South Africa have retained their winning team for the one-off Test match against Zimbabwe, which gets underway on August 9 in Harare.

The Proteas, who have not played a Test match in Zimbabwe since 2001, regained their number one Test team ranking after recently beating Sri Lanka 1-0.

“The Proteas have earned a vote of confidence,” Cricket South Africa’s convener of selectors, Andrew Hudson, said. “We will be naming the ODI squad for the three-match series against Zimbabwe next week and will give consideration to resting a couple of players.

“We will, however, be sending our full-strength ODI squad for the following triangular series against Zimbabwe and Australia.”

South Africa Test Squad: Hashim Amla (capt), AB de Villiers (vice-capt), Kyle Abbott, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Imran Tahir, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Alviro Petersen, Vernon Philander, Dane Piedt, Dale Steyn, Stiaan van Zyl

Leave a Reply