Cook denies England had any involvement in decision to report Senanayake’s bowling action

"We as players have no power to report anyone"

“We as players have no power to report anyone”

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

England captain Alastair Cook has denied rumours and speculation that England were involved in the decision to report Sri Lanka spinner Sachithra Senanayake’s bowling action.

Senanayake’s action was reported after the fourth ODI at Lord’s and will now be tested in Cardiff.

“We as players have no power to report anyone,” Cook said. “It’s directly down to the umpires and the match referee. I know that for a fact. So we can’t say anything, it’s down to the ICC and the umpires on the day.

“Concerns were raised just by watching TV. I think everyone saw his action and I think concerns were raised; you only had to watch TV and see that.”

Leave a Reply