South Africa name Amla as Test captain

"I will be taking it as my responsibility to give all my heart to this position"

“I will be taking it as my responsibility to give all my heart to this position”

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Cricket South Africa have named Hashim Amla as their new Test captain following the retirement of Graeme Smith in March.

Amla’s first assignment as captain will be South Africa’s two-Test tour of Sri Lanka next month.

Amla has also been named vice-captain of the country’s ODI squad after AB de Villiers retained his position as captain.

“As a captain, you are more a servant than you are a leader,” Amla said. “I will be taking it as my responsibility to give all my heart to this position. I am positive that it won’t affect my batting and I hope it doesn’t. I will try and score as many if not more runs. Any Test team wants to be ranked No.1. We’ve had that privilege but having lost it is a fair reflection of how we have played. We haven’t played our best cricket over the last year or so. It is a proud thing to be ranked No.1. Foremost in my mind is to try and get us back there.”

Speaking about the decision to make Amla captain, South Africa’s convener of selectors Andrew Hudson said: “There were some strong contenders, not only AB de Villiers. We’ve got three captains in three formats now and that is perhaps not ideal.

“We have a very skewed season ahead of us with 30 ODIs, including the World Cup. So this next season, the focus is on one-day cricket. What AB has achieved with Russell in the one-day side and the gelling of that team going forward is something we did not want to disrupt. Hashim will complement AB in terms of his style and what he wants to do with the one-day side, just as AB will complement Hash in the Test arena.”

Cricket South Africa also announced that newcomers Stiaan van Zyl and Dane Piedt have been included in the Test squad for the tour of Sri Lanka.

South Africa Test squad: Alviro Petersen, Dean Elgar, Hashim Amla (capt), Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers (wk), JP Duminy, Stiaan van Zyl, Vernon Philander, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn, Imran Tahir, Kyle Abbott, Quinton de Kock, Dane Piedt, Wayne Parnell

South Africa ODI squad: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wk), Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers (capt), JP Duminy, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Ryan McLaren, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir, Vernon Philander, Faf du Plessis, Aaron Phangiso, Beuran Hendricks

Leave a Reply