Gayle included in ODI and T20 squad for Ireland series

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Gayle has been sidelined since November last year

West Indies flamboyant opening batsman Chris Gayle has returned to the country’s ODI and Twenty20 squad for the upcoming limited overs home series against Ireland.

Gayle has been out of action since November last year after he tore his left hamstring during an ODI against India.

West Indies Twenty20 captain Darren Sammy and all-rounder Marlon Samuels have also been included in the squad after they recovered from injuries as well.

Uncapped pace bowler Miguel Cummins has also been drafted into the side, while veteran seamer Ravi Rampaul will only play in the Twenty20 series as he was not included in the ODI squad.

Pace bowler Tino Best, opening batsman Johnson Charles and all-rounder Narsingh Deonarine have all been dropped, while Kieron Pollard was not considered for selection as he is still undergoing rehabilitation for a knee injury he suffered last year.

West Indies ODI squad: Dwayne Bravo (capt), Darren Bravo, Miguel Cummins, Kirk Edwards, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Nikita Miller, Sunil Narine, Kieron Powell, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Marlon Samuels, Darren Sammy, Lendl Simmons

West Indies T20 squad: Darren Sammy (capt), Samuel Badree, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Krishmar Santokie, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith

Leave a Reply