New Zealand vs India 1st Test Day 1: Williamson and McCullum pummel India


Images courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Williamson and McCullum celebrate their centuries

New Zealand batsman Kane Williamson and captain Brendon McCullum both scored breathtaking centuries as they pummelled India on the first day of the first Test in Auckland.

Williamson and McCullum were well supported by all-rounder Corey Anderson, who is currently unbeaten on 42.

Even though Williamson and McCullum tormented India later on in the day, India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni would have been pleased with his decision to bowl first since opening batsman Hamish Rutherford was caught by Ajinkya Rahane at gully off the bowling of Ishant Sharma for just six runs.

Rutherford’s dismissal marked a personal milestone for Sharma as he became the fourth Indian pace bowler to take 150 Test wickets after legendary all-rounder Kapil Dev, Javagal Srinath and Zaheer Khan.

Rutherford’s opening partner, Peter Fulton, failed to last much longer as he was given out lbw off the bowling of Khan for 13.

Things went from bad to worse for New Zealand as Ross Taylor was caught by Jadeja at short mid-off off the bowling of Sharma for only three runs.

New Zealand turned their fortunes around from this point on as Williamson and McCullum amassed an incredible 221-run partnership, during which Williamson brought up his fifth Test century and McCullum his eighth, before Williamson was caught behind off the bowling of Khan.

Williamson’s fantastic knock of 113 came off 172 balls and included 10 boundaries and two sixes.

McCullum and Anderson kept the runs flowing with an unbeaten 78-run partnership before the umpires decided to bring play to an end for the day.

McCullum finished on 143 off 210 balls, which included 18 boundaries and two sixes, while Anderson remained undefeated on 42 off 78 deliveries, which included five boundaries and a six.

Sharma and Khan picked up two wickets apiece.

New Zealand ended the day on 329/4 and will continue batting tomorrow at 11:00 local time or 22:00 GMT (previous day).

Leave a Reply