Muirhead and Lynn set to make T20 debut


Images courtesy of: Zimbio

Muirhead and Lynn are the only uncapped players in Australia’s Twenty20 squad

Leg-spinner James Muirhead and batsman Chris Lynn are set to make their Twenty20 International debuts after being included in the national team for the upcoming Twenty20 series against England, which gets underway on January 29 in Hobart.

Cameron White, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Ben Cutting and Moises Henriques are also primed to make their international comebacks.

“We’ll select the 15-man squad for the T20 World Cup in the middle of February and we’re looking at spin-bowling options,” national selector John Inverarity said. “There are a number of spin-bowling options. Xavier Doherty of course has strong claims, Brad Hogg still has strong claims and we’re interested in a leg-spinner also.

“So we’re having a look at James Muirhead this time. He’s a young man and he’s impressed this season when he’s played against England. He’s a young man who really puts a lot on the ball and his legbreak turns. He’s in the squad for the experience and if he plays I’m sure that he’ll be striving to make the most of the opportunity.”

Lynn has been in terrific form throughout the ongoing Big Bash League (BBL) season with 197 runs at a solid average of 32.83.

Speaking about Lynn, Inverarity said: “[He] had a difficult season last season and wasn’t included in Queensland’s first Sheffield Shield match. He came here to play against England for the Western Australia XI and made a century, and hasn’t looked back. He’s a fine striker of the ball.”

Meanwhile, Starc will be playing his first international match since sustaining a back injury during the Ashes series in England.

“Mitchell Starc has a fine record in international T20 cricket and is an important player in our ICC World Twenty20 campaign,” Inverarity said. “It is anticipated that he will be ready to perform by the end of this month.”

Australia Twenty20 squad George Bailey (capt), Aaron Finch (vice-capt), Daniel Christian, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Ben Cutting, James Faulkner, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, James Muirhead, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade (wk), Cameron White

Leave a Reply